What I learnt from my first CodeBar !

Amina Adewusi
3 min readOct 22, 2018

--

I want to tell you about my first experience of CodeBar London, the coding event for under represented groups in tech where you can bring your laptop and receive coaching from a more experienced developer.

I went along for the first time and was really impressed by the set up, but also learnt a few things that I would do differently next time!

So the session was at Makers Academy in Aldgate East, which was a huge plus because I got to meet current Makers students and Makers staff who support new applicants. I am definitely interested in Makers, so it was amazing to ask students all my questions about the application process and their current experience of the course. The 3 guys I spoke to where overwhelmingly positive (and they must have been given they were still there at 6:30pm!)

I also had some time to network with a couple of other participants of CodeBar and a coach. That was so beneficial, because I hardly know any developers, so it was unreal to be able to ask seasoned developers about their day to day job and what they actually do!!

An example of a codebar event

The coding part of the event was really well organised. One of the volunteers leading the event had recorded our names and which languages we wanted to work on. He then paired 2–3 learners with a coach. I was paired with a girl who had been to CodeBar a few times. I was SUPER embarrassed that I had not prepared anything before coming to the event. She was really well prepared and had noted all her questions so the coach could immediately start working with her.

I had understood from CodeBar that I just need to turn up and start working on tutorials, but I’m not sure that’s such a great use of time given the coach might not actually be needed for you to go through the tutorial material.

I myself couldn’t actually complete the Ruby installation process on my mac! I almost cried!!!!!

I actually left early, because I just felt like I wasn’t getting anything out of the session given the coach couldn’t really help me too much and I just felt that I hadn’t prepared appropriately.

The other learner that was in my group was exceedingly sweet. Maybe I looked distraught, I’m not sure! But before I left she said, “find the way that you learn best. Everyone is different. Don’t worry if your way of learning isn’t the same as others.” I thought that was really really kind and reassuring of her and I really appreciated her saying that.

I will definitely go back to CodeBar, but only once I’ve done lots of work at home and have a list of roadblocks that I need help with!

Thank you Codebar and I can’t wait until the next event!

--

--